Board of Directors

You are here

2017 Executive Committee

  • Chair - Kit Cramer, Asheville Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Chair-Elect - Paul McDowell, Mission Health 
  • Vice Chair - Susanne Swanger, Buncombe County Schools 
  • Treasurer - Cheryl Atkins, Mills Manufacturing Corporation
  • Secretary - Jennie Eblen, Eblen Short Stop
  • Past Chair - Leon Elliston, MD, Allergy Partners PA
  • Director - Linda Kendall Fields, Land of Sky Regional Council
  • Director - Heather Goldstein, The Van Winkle Law Firm
  • Director - Ann Young, Mission Health
  • President & CEO - David Bailey, United Way of Asheville and Buncombe County

Standing Committee Chairs

  • Annual Campaign - Heather Goldstein, The Van Winkle Law Firm
  • Competitive Grants - Linda Kendall Fields, Land of Sky Regional Council
  • Finance/Building - Cheryl Atkins, Chair, Mills Manufacturing Corporation, Barbara Whitehorn, Vice-Chair, Asheville Finance Department
  • Nominating/Governance - Leon Elliston, MD, Allergy Partners PA
  • Strategic Planning - Paul McDowell, Chair, Mission Health, Susanne Swanger, Vice-Chair, Buncombe County Schools 
  • NC 2-1-1 Asheville Center - Kevin McDonald, Chair, Eaton, Scott Burnette, Vice-Chair, Asheville Fire Department 
  • Member Emeritus - Glenn Wilcox, Wilcox World Travel and Tours/Tower Associates, Inc.
  • At-Large Member - Suzanne DeFerie, Asheville Savings Bank, Elisa Jacobs-Thompson, Ann Young, Mission Health
  • Ex Officio Member - Jamye Davis, Big Brothers/Big Sisters of WNC


  • Derek Allen, Ward and Smith, P.A.
  • Amy Barry, Buncombe County Partnership for Children
  • Amy Bibby, Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP
  • Tracy Buchanan, Mission Health
  • Norma Duran Brown, Buncombe County Schools 
  • Shannon Earle, UNC Asheville 
  • Taylor Foss, Mission Health
  • Andy Gmitter, Galaxy Digital
  • Neal Hanks, Beverly-Hanks & Associates
  • Phillip Hardin, Buncombe County Health & Human Services
  • Laurel Jernigan, Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
  • Tracey Johnston-Crum, Omni Hotels & Resorts
  • Himanshu Karvir, Holiday Inn - Biltmore West
  • Dennis King, EdD, AB Tech 
  • Bruce Law, Asheville Radio Group
  • David Mannebach, Eaton
  • Lakesha McDay, Mission Health
  • Stacey Millett, UNC Asheville
  • Sara Pacifici, Sheppard Insurance Group 
  • Dr. Denise Patterson, Asheville City Schools
  • Ann Ray, Mission Health 
  • Sally Stein
  • Ben Teague, Asheville Area Chamber of Commerce 
  • Brian Turner, Beverly-Hanks & Associates
  • Jason Walls, Duke Energy Progress

< Return to Who We Are Main Page