Current Community Schools

You are here

Co-Creating Community Schools in Asheville and Buncombe County

Because each community school is a reflection of local needs, assets, and priorities, no two look exactly alike. What they do share, however, is a commitment to partnership and to rethinking—and at times rebuilding—relationships based on a strong foundation of trust and respect. School staff, under the leadership of the Principal and with support from the Community School Coordinator (a United Way employee working at the school), work with families and community partners to create and then implement a shared vision of student and school success.
Current Community Schools in Asheville and Buncombe County include:
  • Asheville Middle School
  • Enka Middle School
  • Erwin Middle School
  • Owen Middle School

Meet Our Community School Coordinators


Bruce Waller

Asheville Middle Community School Coordinator 
(828) 350-6216




Ginny Spencer Eudy

Enka Middle Community School Coordinator
(828) 365-8108




Jocelin Rosas 

Erwin Middle Community School Coordinator
828-232-4264 (Erwin Office)



Josh Wells

Owen Middle School Coordinator

(828) 989-4020



Community Resource Teams

Each Community School Coordinator convenes a Community School Resource Team which includes representatives from both the school and the community (see the chart above). The Resource Teams focus on several goals, including: working together to support students, families and school staff; volunteer recruitment; community engagement event support; and determining areas of focus for the community school. Resource Teams meet once a month for one hour. Interested in joining a Resource Team? Email to learn more.