Community Schools

Monday, November 11, 2019
A student can be paired with a tutor or mentor and will often do better in school. But if that student is going home to a family in crisis, a family…
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Local Schools and Community Partners Deepen Restorative Practices Work During the week of September 23-27, 2019, more than 65 participants gathered…
Monday, September 23, 2019
  September 23 marks the launch of the 2019-20 Homework Diner season. Nearly 8,000 meals were served at the 2018-19 Homework Diners.  If you aren't…
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Community School Coordinators Appreciation Week We’re always looking for ways to celebrate the wonderful work of our four Community School…
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Meet Jocelin Rosas New United Way Community School Coordinator for Erwin Middle School   Jocelin (pronounced Jo and Celine as in Celine Dionne, she…
Saturday, June 15, 2019
                                            Parent Leadership Shines at Erwin Middle Parent involvement alongside school staff, community partners,…
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Community School Leaders from North Carolina and Tennessee Gather in Asheville   On May 16, 2019, United Way of Asheville and Buncombe County hosted…
Thursday, May 2, 2019
  Don't Miss the Final Homework Diners of the School Year   With temperatures in the 80’s and end of grade test studying in the works, the final…
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Final Notes from David: The Evolution of Community Schools This is the second blog in a three-part series, crafted from interviews with United Way of…
Monday, April 1, 2019
The news isn’t good. Only 12 percent of the city’s African-American students in grades three to eight score as “proficient” or higher on end-of-…