Tocqueville Society Community Service Award Recipients



The Alexis de Tocqueville Society Community Service Award is given each year to an individual or family whose service and generosity exemplify the true spirit of volunteerism that Tocqueville himself wrote of :

"When an American asks for the cooperation of his fellow citizens, it is seldom
refused; and I have often seen it afforded spontaneously, and with great goodwill."

--Alexis de Tocqueville
Democracy in America 1835

Criteria for Award

The award recipient(s) is recognized for:

  • Outstanding contributions to the nonprofit health and human services of our community.
  • Commitment to the work of United Way of Asheville and Buncombe County with gifts of time and money.
  • Sustained contributions over a period of years, preferably to a variety of nonprofits.
  • Leadership that promotes philanthropy among others and throughout the community.
  • Generosity in personal giving, member of the Tocqueville Society.

Past Recipients

2002 - Buddy and Marilyn Patton & Barbara Blomberg 

2003 - Janice and Joe Brumit                                                         

2004 - Jerry Sternberg                                                                       

2005 - Pam and Jim Turner                                                             

2006 - Heather and Bill Lee                                                             

2007 - Charlie and Eleanor Owen                                                   

2008 - John and Diane Teeter                                                         

2009 - Charlie and Cary Owen

2011 - Jim and Robin Stickney

2013 - Dot Hamill & Marla and Joel Adams

2014 - Barbara and George Groome

2015 - Barbra and Keith Love

2016 - Ann and Mike Young

2018 - David and Sherie Bailey (Honorary)

2019 - Taylor and Gary Foss

2020 - Tracy and Scott Buchanan

2021 - Jennie Eblen and Bobbie Eblen