Women United

Women United




Grounded in Purpose
and Community

Women United members form a diverse, vibrant, and impactful community, bound together by a powerful sense of belonging - to United Way's mission, and to this place we all call home. This Affinity group recognizes influential women who invest $1,000 or more annually.

They empower each other to leverage their passions, ideas, expertise, and resources to develop solutions to our community's most pressing issues. Locally, they focus on strengthening our community by supporting students and families through community schools. To date, more than 200 members have contributed over $350,000 in support of our community.


It's a simple process! We offer payroll deduction, credit card, bank draft, and paper billing options, and can do so on a weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annual basis.

  • Donate $1,000 or more to the Live United Fund by making a gift through your workplace campaign, by mail, have us set up any of the billing options above, or give now online and indicate your interest in Women United.
  • Step Up Program. Step Up is designed to allow women at the start of their careers to join Women United in stages:
    • Yr 1 - $600 (immediately recognized as a Women United member)
    • Yr 2 - $800 (continued recognition as a Women United member)
    • Yr 3 - $1,000 (recognized as a member and Leadership Giver)
  • For detailed information about Women United, please contact Kris Dionne, 828.239.1049.

And be sure to connect with us on Facebook.

Why engage?

  • You'll join other like-minded women contributing their time and unique strengths to build a strong, and inclusive community;
  • Special recognition in our annual Leaders in Giving + Action publication;
  • The opportunity to give back by volunteering your professional expertise and talent to support students and families via community schools;
  • Networking opportunities with some of the most influential women in Asheville and Buncombe County;
  • Attend Women United's national biennial summit;
  • Learn more about critical issues impacting our community; and
  • Year-round communications detailing the incredible work being done by members.

Committee Members

  • Jenny Boyer, Co-Chair - Ward and Smith, P.A.
  • Ashley Smith, Co-Chair - FORVIS
  • Ashley Gragtmans - Modera
  • Lynne Froeba - Farm Girl Foodie
  • Faith Doyle - Webb Investment Services
  • Elizabeth Allen

July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2023

The Kushigian Legacy*
Dr. Jennifer L. Abbott
Laleah Adams
Marla Adams
Elizabeth Allen
Linda Ariail
Barbara M. Baskerville
MaryAlice Stickney Bell
Danielle Bernstein
Amy Bibby
Terri Blankenship
Elisabeth Bocklet and Aurethia Scott
Erin Bowers
Jenny Boyer
Liz Britton
Tracy Buchanan
Kim Burleson
Sandra Byrd
Victoria Calvert
Debra  D. Campbell
Charlotte Caplan
Anne Carpenter
Leslie Carreiro
Sarah Cash
Shelia Christofalos
Lisa Clark
Dr. Vicki Collins
Lynn Cook
Nancy Craig
Kit Cramer
Hilary Davenport
Jamye Davis
Madeline Davis
Suzanne DeFerie
Traci DiBlasio
Lynne Courtney Diehl
Kris Dionne
Rebecca Doty
Christine Dozier
Heidi DuBose Fore
Diane Demetris-Duermit
Jade Dundas
Jennie Eblen
Bridget Eckerd
Taylor Foss
Lynne Froeba
Dr. Janet Garrett
Heather Goldstein
Jessie Goodwin
Desiree Greene
Susan H. Greene
Clementine Gregory
Pat Grimes
Barbara Groome
Lisa Hart
Vicki S. Heidinger
Whitney Hewitt
Melissa M. Hicks, MD and Ann D. Brown, CNM, MSN
Leslie Hill
Elizabeth W. Holden
Kelly Hudgins
Tracee Humes
Linda Iovacchini
Malorie Irwin
Laurel Jernigan
Pamela Johnson
Elizabeth Jones
Katherine Kaderabek

Patsy R. Keever
Ms. Amy S. Kelso
Frances A. Killian
Dr. Robyn Latessa
Barbra Love
Dr. Shantae L. Lucas
Jennifer Marlowe
Clary McCall
Susan H. McClinton
Verna McGaughey
Kim McGuire
Marjorie McGuirk
Alice Miller
Susan Mims
Julie Montanea
Donette Moore-Douglass
Sharon Owen
Yolanda Parker
Francine Paschall
Alison Pettigrew
Avril Pinder
Natalia Rabin
JoAnn Reilly
Mary Kate Rikard
Maria Roloff
Lucy Rountree
Sherie Ryan-Bailey
Nancy Schuman
Mrs. Barbara A. Settle
Kristi Shrum
Ann H. Skoglund
Ashley Smith
Julie Smith
Rickie Sue Smith
Rachel Sossoman
Sue M. Stanek
Carol Nguyen Steen
Robin Stickney
Jana Stonestreet
Kerry Strupp
Susanne Swanger
Shirley Tenney
Tara Theodossis
Fran Thigpen
Lindsay Thompson
Gillian Tosatto
Kathleen Treiber
Moultrie H. Truluck
Pam Turner
Adriane VanDoren
Karen Vernon
Ann Von Brock
Nancy Watford
Laura Webb
Alexandra Weeks
Hayley Wells
Ann Whaley
Debbie Williams
Janie Wilson
Heather Wingert
Nancy Witek
Rachel Wood
Margaret Word-Sims
Nona Workman
Benita Wynn
Michelle Yanik
Ann Young
Nina Young
Andrea Younger
Mrs. Suzanne Cobb Landau
and 9 Anonymous Donors