Advocate

Friday, April 5, 2024
As we find ourselves in the midst of 2024, a critical election year, the importance of civic engagement has never been clearer. While voting is…
Wednesday, April 3, 2024
  Hello friends,  I’d like to tell you about the visit I had at Enka Middle School with Ginny Spencer-Eudy last week as part of my “day in the life”…
Wednesday, February 28, 2024
If you were to go on a tour of Asheville Middle School, you may be graced with Ellis Walker as your tour guide. The 13-year-old, 7th grader is an…
Tuesday, February 20, 2024
Join us on Tuesday, Feb. 27, for "Protecting the Next Generation of North Carolinians: Social Media Town Hall," presented by the North Carolina…
Thursday, February 1, 2024
  Community Schools are one of the most tangible and robust examples of how United Way of Asheville and Buncombe County (UWABC) plays a backbone role…
Monday, January 22, 2024
Meet Antoria Stinson, an Asheville High School 12th-grade senior. At just 17 years old, Antoria has recently been accepted into six colleges and is…
Thursday, January 4, 2024
Think of the leaders in your elementary, middle, or high school... Maybe you thought of a kind teacher or one who was a little too stern; possibly…
Wednesday, December 20, 2023
In an era where up to five generations can gather in a single room, United Way of Asheville and Buncombe County is fortunate enough to have access to…
Tuesday, December 5, 2023
For nearly a decade, United Way of Asheville and Buncombe County has been hosting an Annual Holiday Book Drive. The goal, at the surface level, is…
Tuesday, October 31, 2023
  If you’ve heard about United Way of Asheville and Buncombe County, you’ve most likely heard about the community school strategy, which guides a…